So this isn’t really a new project. I’ve actually been working on it for a couple of months on and off. In fact, I already did a post related to it. But I wasn’t really sure if it was going anywhere or whether to post it. Now it’s gotten to the point where I have ordered circuit boards online and begun soldering so I think it’s a legitimate project.

The reason this has taken me so long is that I have recently moved to the US to do an exchange year at MIT. That takes some getting used to, so finding the time to work on hardware projects has been a bit tricky, but now I think I’m good to get back into the usual rhythm of building stuff.

I’ll post more detail on the project soon, but for now, I have a new soldering iron! A Hakko FX-888D.

hakkofx888d

Because I’m currently in the US, this model actually runs off of 110V as opposed to the 240V we have in the UK. Therefore I’ll have to modify it in order to use it when I return home. However, even with the cost of a new transformer, it will still come out significantly cheaper than buying it in the UK!

