It’s been a little while since I last posted. I’ve been pretty busy with work-work and uni-work. But I’ve also been working pretty hard on the design for the Mill as well as gathering parts.

I decided to base the design off 3×1″ aluminium U-channel and will be using Nema 17 stepper motors.

3D model of the Mill made in Creo Parametric
3D model of the Mill made in Creo Parametric

3d_view2
Here is the back view

I’m pretty pleased with the design.The grey stuff is metal, the brown stuff is wood and the green things are sliders.

You can see the three stepper motors – one for each dimension; the vertical assembly which will have the drill strapped to it; and the horizontal piece of wood which is the actual platform on which the material will rest. The drill I chose was pretty cheap on eBay: 10000-30000RPM and 135 Watts should be perfect, and it doesn’t wobble much at all.

Hopefully the U-channel will come by the weekend and I will be able to get going with building it.

