With the Smart Watch project drawing to a close (all that’s left is software refinements and a final video), it’s time to begin a new project.

Having just completed an entirely electronic/software project, I think it would be nice to move onto a hardware based project. It is for that reason that I will be attempting to make a Printed Circuit Board Milling CNC based of these plans by Tom McGuire. This isn’t actually my first attempt at a CNC machine. Back in 2012 I had a first attempt, using only parts from a scrap printer. This didn’t go to plan for a number of reasons – lack of planning, cheap parts, lack of research and impatience to name a few. But this was before I started my Engineering course at uni.

This was my first attempt at a PCB Mill.
This was my first attempt at a PCB Mill.
P1020507
This was an “improvement”.

 

 

 

 

 

 

To cut a long story short, it didn’t go well. I didn’t think properly about how to interface it to a PC and I didn’t get appropriate motors. It is now gathering dust in my room.

Here is a video of it at it’s peak:

Hopefully, by taking time to do appropriate research and buying high(ish) quality parts, I should be able to make something useful.

Let’s hope for better luck this time.

