Perhaps a bit prematurely, I wanted to start designing the case for the watch.

The main principles of this case will be:

Waterproof

Simple

Attachable/Removable to/from a watch strap

Two contacts to allow for power input.

Ideally I would like to 3D-print the case, but since I don’t have a 3D-printer I need to make sure I get it right first time because it’s pretty costly to buy individual items online. (Or perhaps I could get access to one at uni?)

Therefore I have decided to first make a prototype of the case by layering up 1mm thick cross-sections of plastic.

I used PTC Creo Parametric 2.0 to design a first draft of the case and this is what I came up with:

PTC Creo design. Left to right: Hidden line, shaded, 3rd angle drawing
PTC Creo design. Left to right: Hidden line, shaded, 3rd angle drawing

So, this design includes:

Floor/short-edge panels at each end for a large metal contact set into the body. A small screw will pass through the body to connect GND and VCC to the outside of the strap.

Outer edge panels (each with a small screw) to connect the transparent top cover. Having not actually designed the cover yet, this part may well change.

I’m pretty pleased with the design. Possible modifications include thinner walls, thinner pannels… and everything.

